Picture Gallery World Cup

 

Click the button to find a selection of the pictures of the World Cup. Immerse yourself in the Swiss scenery and the world of canoe sports!

Bildergalerie Weltcup

"Muotatal goes international" - Franz Föhn, Council Leader

On behalf of the Council and the people of Muotathal I should like to extend a warm welcome to all our visitors and spectators, but above all, to you, the athletes.


Spring is possibly the finest season and that is true here in the Muota valley too. As spring sets in, the snow on the mountains melts and the Muota fills with water. This is good news not only for the organisers of the Canoe World Championships, but also for the Schwyz electricity company since, as the Muota flows down the valley it is used to produce electricity at several points. Finally, the Muota enters the magnificent Lake Lucerne at Brunnen, on whose western shores the famous "city of light" itself stands.

The occasion of the Canoe World Championships will bring an international focus to the otherwise tranquil and quiet Muota valley; and we welcome this. It is a pleasure and an honour for us.  It shows that the unspoilt environment of the Muota valley, with the Muota River tumbling through it, has its place on the international stage.

Now, for the first time since 1973, Muotathal again has the honour of welcoming the Canoe World Championships.

Muotathal is one of the ten largest communes in Switzerland by area, covering a total of 172 km2; however, having only 3600 inhabitants it is sparsely populated and much of it is nature at its most natural.  Ried and Bisisthal also form part of the Muotathal district.

I should like to thank the Organising Committee of the Muota Wild Water Racing World Championships, as well as all the volunteers and other helpers, for the huge effort they have put into this event and I wish all the best to all the competitors. I hope that, besides the medals and awards, you also take home with you many happy memories of the Stoos-Muotathal region and of course, of Muotathal itself.  Please come back and visit us again. You'll find a lot more information about our valley on our website www.muotathal.ch.

Franz Föhn, Council Leader, Muotathal

LIVE STREAM

Watch the Worldcup again: Live Stream

Immerse yourself in competition and stunning scenery

Adrenaline and stamina, skill and precision. These are the qualities it takes for a paddler and their craft to master the wild waters of the Muota and find the fastest route to the finish line.

 

The unspoilt waters flowing past the famous yet feared Muotastein are made for experiencing wild water racing in its natural element.

Become a part of this experience as a competitor, sponsor, volunteer or guest!

Our Sponsors

Become a partner or sponsor

This unique event is the perfect platform for projecting an image of Swissness, agility, perfection, endurance and authenticity.  The unique hospitality and incentive opportunities will leave a lasting impression upon your guests. Become a part of the Canoe World Championships now.

Feel free to contact us for further information on our attractive sponsorhip packages (VIP hospitality, river rafting, introductory canoe courses).

Contact:
Robert Weller     robert.weller@kanu-muota.ch

Download Sponsoring Documentation

The Muotathal Experience

Alp Cheese Market

The Muotatal Alp Cheese Market was launched in 1996 by a group of enterprising mountain farmers. The aim initially was to bring the Muotatal alp cheeses to a wider audience and to promote direct selling. At the time the farmers had become concerned about their traditional resellers in the Canton of Schwyz, the dairies Toni Mölkerei and Swiss Dairy Food (SDF) and feared that, longer term, they might seek alternative suppliers.

read more...

"Wetterschmöcker" -  The Weather Diviners

The Innerschwyz Meteorologists (better known as the "Muotathaler Wetterfrösche" - literally Muotathal weather frogs) are a group of amateur meteorologists from the Innerschwyz Region.

Twice each year, and not without a certain amount of humour, they present their weather predictions to a public meeting of the Innerschwyz Meteorological Society. These largely agricultural "weather diviners" use their observations from around the surrounding countryside to colour their weather forecasts.  The precise formula is however secret to each soothsayser.

read more...

Hölloch

In 1875 the miner Alois Ulrich discovered the entrance to a cave near Stalden in the Muota valley. Despite repeated investigation armed with little more than a rope, pick, ladder and a simple hand lantern, he never managed to find the end of the cave. Thus began an eventful history of exploration and charting of the Hölloch, which at 190 known kilometers is the fourth largest karst cave system in the world.

read more...

Walkers' Paradise

With its 280 km of footpaths, the Muota Valley offers a wide range of possibiities for relaxation and fun in the great outdoors for all ages.  Click on the link below for more information and suggestions:

Walks in the Muota Valley

Example for families: The "Wetterfrosch" walk - discover, through the fourteen information panels along the route, how the weather can be forecast by interpreting signs from nature. This walk provides an opportunity for the whole family to enjoy nature first hand and return home all the richer for the experience. There are two routes to choose from; the longer route takes 2 hours and the shorter about 1 hour.  The longer route offers a refreshment stop at the Güggelibesenbeiz mountain café along the way.

Winter activities

Discover this beautiful region during winter.  Many winter activites are available in the region around Muotathal.

For families and beginners, for example, there are four marked snow-shoe routes. If you'd prefer simply to walk in the snow, a number of little used roads and prepared routes are available allowing visitors to make the most of their stay. Marvel at the views across the winter mountain landscapes.

The crisp, fresh winter air is good for the health and will put colour into your cheeks. Why not stop off in one of the restaurants along your way and add the finishing touch to your day out.

 

read more...

Klicken Sie sich durch eine Auswahl der Bilder von zwei fantastischen Weltcup-Tagen und tauchen Sie ein in die spritzige Kanusport-Welt!

Bildergalerie Weltcup

"Muotatal wird international" - Franz Föhn, Gemeindepräsident

Im Namen des Gemeinderates und der Bevölkerung von Muotathal heisse ich alle Zuschauer und Interessierte, allen voran aber die Wildwasser-Sportlerinnen und - Sportler herzlich willkommen.

Der Frühling ist eine der schönsten Jahreszeiten - auch bei uns im Muotatal. Der Frühling erwacht, der Schnee in den Bergen schmilzt und die Muota führt viel Wasser. Daran haben nicht nur die Organisatoren von den Kanu-Meisterschaften, sondern auch das Elektrizitätswerk des Bezirks Schwyz Freude, da die Muota, welche das ganze Tal durchfliesst, verschiedene Male für die Strom-Erzeugung genutzt wird. Schliesslich mündet die Muota bei Brunnen in den wunderschönen Vierwaldstättersee, an welchem wiederum die bekannte Leuchtenstadt Luzern liegt.


Mit der Durchführung der Kanuweltmeisterschaft wird, - das sonst beschauliche und ruhige Muotatal für ein paar Tage international - auch das gehört zu unserem Tal - es freut und ehrt uns. Das zeigt auf, dass Naturschönheiten wie die Muota, welche mit dem ganzen Muotatal ein einziges Naturparadies bildet, auch international ihre Bedeutung haben. Muotathal darf nun bereits das zweite Mal nach 1973 Austragungsort für die Kanu WM sein.

Muotathal ist eine der 10 flächenmässig grössten Gemeinden in der Schweiz mit insgesamt 172 km2; ist mit 3600 Einwohnern allerdings nur dünn besiedelt - vieles ist und bleibt für immer "Natur pur". Die Ortsteile Ried und Bisisthal gehören auch zur Gemeinde Muotathal.

Ich danke dem Gesamt OK Kanu WM Muota und allen Helferinnen und Helfern für die riesigen Arbeiten und wünsche allen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern viel Erfolg. Ich hoffe, dass Sie nebst Medaillen und Auszeichnungen auch viele gute Eindrücke und Erlebnisse von der Region Stoos-Muotatal und von der Gemeinde Muotathal mit nach Hause nehmen. Ich lade Sie ein, kommen Sie uns wieder einmal besuchen; unter www.muotathal.ch finden Sie viel Interessantes über unser "Tal".


Franz Föhn, Gemeindepräsident Muotathal


LIVE STREAM

Alle Rennen des Weltcups online schauen: Live Stream

Erlebe Wettkampfsport in grandioser Natur

Adrenalin und Ausdauer, Geschicklichkeit und Präzision. Diese Mischung braucht es, um das Zusammenspiel zwischen Kanute und Wildbach zu gewährleisten und die optimalste Linie ins Ziel zu finden.

Die natürliche Kanu-Arena beim berühmt-berüchtigten Muotastein ist der ideale Ort, um Wildwasserrennsport live zu erleben.

Werde Teil dieses Erlebnisses als Wettkämpfer, Sponsor, Helfer oder Gast!

Sponsoren

Werden Sie Partner, Sponsor

Dieser einmalige Anlass ist die perfekte Plattform für den Imagetransfers bezüglich Swissness, Agilität, Perfektion, Ausdauer und Natürlichkeit. Die einzigartigen Hospitality- und Incentivemöglichkeiten werden bei Ihren Gästen einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen. Werden Sie Teil der Kanu-WM.

Gerne informieren wir Sie detailliert über unser attraktives Sponsoringkonzept (VIP-Anlass, River Rafting, Kanu-Einführungskurs)

Kontakt:
Robert Weller     robert.weller@kanu-muota.ch


Download Sponsoring-Dokumentation

Erlebnis Muotathal

Alpkäsemarkt

Der Muotitaler Alpchäsmärcht wurde von einigen initiativen Älplern im Jahr 1996 ins Leben gerufen. Die Idee war damals, den Muotitaler Alpkäse einem breiteren Publikum bekannt zu machen und die Direktvermarktung vermehrt zu fördern. Die Initianten waren damals mit dem traditionellen Abnehmer von Alpkäse aus dem Kanton Schwyz, der Toni Molkerei, bzw. der Swiss Dairy Food (SDF), nicht mehr zufrieden und befürchten, dass diese Firmen auf längere Sicht die Lieferanten wechseln könnten.

mehr...

Wetterschmöcker

Die Innerschwyzer Meteorologen (auch bekannt als Muotathaler Wetterfrösche) sind eine Gruppe von Hobbymeteorologen aus der Region Innerschwyz.

Sie tragen zweimal jährlich ihre mit viel Humor verbundenen Wettervorhersagen an den öffentlichen Vereinsversammlungen des Meteorologischen Vereins Innerschwyz vor. Die landwirtschaftlich orientierten "Wetterschmöcker" lassen ihre Beobachtungen in der freien Natur in ihre Wetterprognosen einfliessen. Das genaue Rezept bleibt aber Geheimnis jedes einzelnen der Propheten.

mehr...

Hölloch

Im Jahr 1875 entdeckte der Bergbauer Alois Ulrich bei Stalden in Muotathal den Eingang zu einer Höhle, deren Ende er damals trotz ausgedehnter Exkursionen mit Seil, Pickel, Leiter und einer einfachen Handlaterne nicht bestimmen konnte. Dies ist der Anfang der bewegten und bewegenden Entdeckungs- und Erschliessungsgeschichte des Höllochs, das heute mit 190 Kilometern bekannter Länge als die viertgrösste Karsthöhle der Welt gilt.

mehr...

Wanderparadies

Das Muotatal bietet mit seinen rund 280km langen Wanderwegen für gross und klein pure Erholung in der freien Natur. Viele Informationen und Vorschläge finden Sie hier:

Wandervorschläge Muotatal

Beispiel für Familien: Der Wetterfrosch-Wanderweg zeigt Ihnen an 14 Stationen, wie aus den Zeichen der Natur Wetterregeln gemacht werden. Wetterfrosch-Wandern heisst vor allem gute Unterhaltung zu geniessen, die Natur zu beobachten – und um ein schönes Erlebnis reicher nach Hause zurückzukehren. Sie wählen zwischen der Variante grosse Route, ca. 2 Std., oder kleine Route, ca. 1 Std. Die grosse Route bietet auf dem Weg die Möglichkeit, sich in der Guggeli-Besenbeiz mit einem Getränk zu erfrischen.

 

 

Schneesport

Entdecken Sie die herrliche Gegend auch in der kalten Jahreszeit. Ein vielseitiges Winterangebot steht in der Region rund um Muotathal zu Verfügung. Für Einsteigern & Familien hat es vier ausgeschilderte Schneeschuhrouten zur Verfügung.
Auch zum Schneespazieren stehen Ihnen wenig befahrene Strassen und geräumte Wege zur Verfügung. Somit  können  Sie das Angebot in vollen Zügen geniessen. Lassen Sie sich von traumhaften Ausblicken auf die umliegenden Berge faszinieren. Die frische, klare Winterluft ist gesund und sorgt für rote Wangen. Kehren Sie in eines der Restaurants ein, damit Ihre Winterwanderung zu einem echten Genuss wird.

mehr...